What are primates and non-primates


Similar terms: Non-human primates (NHPs).

Biological order to which half-apes, monkeys, great apes and thus also humans belong. Compared to other mammals, primates have large brains and rely more on their eyesight, which allows for depth perception. Most primates live in tropical and subtropical regions in the Americas, Africa, and Asia.

The order of the primates is usually divided into monkeys and real monkeys.

  • The Semi-monkeys are similar to the earliest primates and include the lemurs of Madagascar, the loris, and the finger animals.
  • The Actually Monkeys are divided into the:
    • New world monkeys in South and Central America, including the capuchin monkey, howler monkey, and squirrel monkey;
    • Old world monkeys in Africa and Southeast Asia, such as the baboons and macaques;
    • Great apes include small great apes such as gibbons and great apes such as gorillas, chimpanzees, and humans.

Source: GreenFacts

Simplified phylogenetic pedigree

Source: GreenFacts

English: primates
Español: Primates
Français: Primates

Relevant publications: