Deletes messenger messages automatically

How to delete Facebook Messenger messages automatically

content

How do I delete my Facebook Messenger messages?

The first thing you should know is how to delete messages in Facebook Messenger . The process changes slightly depending on how many messages you want to delete. If you want to do this with a single message, it's as simple as:

  • In the Facebook Messenger app, press and hold this message.
  • Select the “More…” option from the drop-down menu.
  • Click on Delete . If you choose "Delete for yourself" Then, as mentioned in the action itself, only you will no longer see this message. However, if you choose "Cancel sending" Neither you nor the person you are speaking to can see the message. Of course, that person will receive the warning "You have deleted this message."

Another option is Delete the entire conversation with the user you spoke to. To do this, it is as simple as using the app on your phone in the list of conversations, Swipe from right to left in the chat you want to delete. Then select Delete and voila, conversation deleted.

If you want to perform this operation from the Desktop version of Facebook Messenger The processes are exactly the same, with the difference that you have to click the three dot menu to access the delete messages option or the conversation itself.

This would be the basic process of deleting messages in Messenger, but the truth is that it can be quite tedious if you want to keep your privacy in all chats. Below we explain how you can do all of this automatically.

Automatically delete messages on Facebook Messenger

As mentioned a few lines ago, this process can be carried out in two different ways:

  • Temporary or "vanishing" mode : With this option, the messages will be deleted as soon as we leave the conversation with our friend.
  • Secret conversation : This alternative was known in the web version for a long time. Here the messages are deleted after a timer selected by us has ended.

The only downside is this process can only be done via the messenger App for our phone. In other words, the process is incompatible with the web version of this service, including the new application the company has developed for computers.

Activate Temporary or Disappeared mode

To Activate the temporary mode In any messenger conversation, it's as easy as swiping within that conversation (we recommend that this is a new conversation with this contact). A screen will automatically appear explaining what this mode consists of. Within this we are informed about:

  • Read messages will automatically disappear.
  • If either party takes a screenshot, a message will appear in the conversation notifying you.

Both users do not have to agree Start this temporary mode. Swiping up in the conversation to use it will activate this mode for both of you. Of course, the other person sees a strange animation in which several emojis fall off their screen to warn them that Disappearance Mode has been activated.

Activate a secret conversation

On the other hand too start a secret conversation With a friend on Facebook Messenger, all we have to do is:

  • Click the notebook icon in the upper right corner to start a new conversation.
  • Here we have to click again "Secret" Menu in this corner.
  • Once we're here, every conversation we start will be conducted in secret mode. We find the person we want to speak to and click on their name.

Once we're in that conversation, we have to choose the appropriate timer For the time being, we want our messages to remain visible. To do this, it's as easy as clicking the stopwatch button in the text bar at the bottom of the screen. Here we can select timers that range from 5 seconds to 24 hours.

From now on, every message we send in this chat will be indicated with a countdown This indicates the time until it is completely automatically deleted.